The UP Marine Science Institute houses laboratories led by some of the country’s brightest scientists. With Dr. Charina Lyn Amedo-Repollo as the Institute’s Deputy Director of Research, twenty-three research groups work together to push the frontiers of marine science. The laboratories fall under three divisions: the Marine Physical Sciences Division (headed by Dr. Caroline Marie B. Jaraula), the Marine Biotechnology Division (headed by Dr. Arturo O. Lluisma), and the Marine Biology Division (headed by Dr. Patrick C. Cabaitan).